En mi banco esta -- THE WAY IN

ARTISTAS EN PERFIL: En mi banco esta THE WAY IN
by Jan Galligan and Lillian Mulero



With hundreds of people milling about trying to make themselves heard over the noise and the excellent loud salsa music filling the main vestibule of Banco Popular’s world headquarters, Lillian pulls me close. She shouts, “In the two years we’ve been living on the island we’ve been surprised by the high quality of the art, and the energy and spirit of the artists here,” she says. I nod. “But this is the first time we’ve seen art of this quality and sophistication in a bank.” I agree. She pulls my arm leading me away from the crowd and noise and into Perugino, a wine bar bistro recently opened in the building lobby. Now we can have a decent conversation.

“Of the twenty-three artists in this exhibition we know the work of eighteen, and now we personally know over half of these artists,” she tells me. “We should try to meet the others,” I reply. “I’m working on it,” she says, “but that’s not what I’m thinking about at the moment...

Garvin Sierra, Capitalismo, woodcut on currency paper, 24”x32”, edition of 15, 2003.

Full article in English : originally published in Spanish in En Rojo, the cultural suppliment to Claridad, the national weekly newspaper of Puerto Rico.

Pepon Osorio, Rear View Mirror - detail: KING.


Article as published, in Spanish in En Rojo, the cultural suppliment to Claridad, the national weekly newspaper of Puerto Rico 23 mayo 2012.

The original 1967 article by Jay Jacobs Art in Puerto Rico can be found on the blog of Karla Marie Ostolaza: http://thefractal.net/2009/10/textos-fundamentales

click on this link in her blog article: "Como resultado la revista publicó una serie de artículos entre los que se incluye un ensayo crítico titulado “Art in Puerto Rico” de la autoría de Jay Jacobs."

 

 


 

Jan Galligan
75Grand/Sur
Santa Olaya, PR

 

http://75Grand.posterous.com [foto blog]
http://cinefestsanjuan.posterous.com [cine blog]
http://about.me/JanGalligan [about me]